Two new recipes: Sweet Potato, Apple Pie cupcakes

I tried two new ‘from scratch’ recipes this week – Sweet Potato Cupcakes and Apple Pie Cupcakes. Both were for work, which is probably for the best, because God knows I don’t need to eat them all…

Although I will say that, on these particular recipes, I wouldn’t have minded having to force down all 24 cupcakes.ย  ๐Ÿ˜€

So the Sweet Potato Cupcakes I made Sunday for a coworker’s 33rd anniversary. She likes this special cupcake place downtown, Abby Girl Cupcakes, but they were closed Monday, so I took this project under my wing. I had a Sweet Potato Cupcakes at Sugar Cupcakery in Milford a couple years back, so I thought I’d give this a go. They were pretty awesome – except that they were like cement in the liners and, when I told people they were Sweet Potato they looked at me like I had three eyes.

Keeping with the cinnamon theme, I decided I’d try Apple Pie Cupcakes for our potluck tomorrow. I know people at work are probably super sick of cupcakes, but they are so easy to make when you know a group will be eating them! It’s so hard to make an actual cake or pie and have to worry about piecing it out for everyone.

Anyway, this recipe called to caramelize apples and bake them on top of the cupcake batter. It was a little bit of a pain, but totally worth it. These might be the best cupcakes every, especially with the cinnamon flourish. YUM CINNAMON! I actually remembered to take photos of these little guys. Check ’em out!

4 thoughts on “Two new recipes: Sweet Potato, Apple Pie cupcakes

  1. Hey Karen – this recipe is close to what I made: http://alpineberry.blogspot.com/2007/10/apple-pie-cupcake.html. I think you could make them gluten free by using gluten free flour, baking powder and powdered sugar. I’m not really familiar with gluten-free options, but those would be easy swaps! Also, if you want to try this recipe, I suggest doubling the cinnamon and zest in the cake, adding an extra 1/2 cup powdered sugar to the icing and making sure you mix the eggs until they are VERY fluffy!

Leave a Reply

